Continuing Education Required for Renewal

Dentists
Dental Hygienists
Dental Assistants
Mandatory Reporting Training
CPR
Exemptions & Extensions
Reporting Continuing Education
Related Links


Dentists 

To renew on active status, dentists must complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years or qualify for an exemption. Licensees are also required to complete a minimum of one hour each in the following areas:
The required courses may be counted towards the minimum number of hours required for renewal.

  • Infection control
  • Iowa jurisprudence
  • Opioids*

*Dentists who prescribe opioids within the current renewal period must also complete continuing education in the area of opioids.

CPR Required for renewal – can claim up to 3 hours for completing course. To be eligible, CPR certification courses must be from nationally-recognized sponsor, and include a "hands-on", clinical component. A CPR course may include an online component provided there is an in-person portion prior to the certification being issued.
Infection Control Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years in the area of infection control standards as required by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Iowa Jurisprudence Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years in the area of Iowa jurisprudence.
Abuse Identification and Reporting Training

Effective July 1, 2019, licensees and registrants who practice in Iowa, must complete training through the Department of Human Services and renew the training every 3 years thereafter.  Prior to July 1, 2019, the training was valid for 5 years.  Credit can be claimed for completing courses.

Mandatory reporter training is available here.

Note: The DHS core training is awarded 2.0 hours for each section, for 4 hours total.  Recertification training is awarded 1.0 hour for each section, for 2 hours total.

Opioids Dentists who prescribe opioids to patients must complete a minimum of 1 hour of continuing education in the area of opioids.
Sedation

6 hours for dentists who hold a current moderate sedation or general anesthesia or permit. These hours may also be reported towards the hours required for renewal of the dental license. 
Please note: This requirement does not apply to local anesthesia permit holders.


Dental Hygienists

To renew on active status, dental hygienists must complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years or qualify for an exemption. Licensees are also required to complete a minimum of one hour each in the following areas:
The required courses may be counted towards the minimum number of hours required for renewal.

  • Infection control
  • Iowa jurisprudence
CPR Required for renewal – can claim up to 3 hours for completing course. To be eligible, CPR certification courses must be from nationally-recognized sponsor, and include a "hands-on", clinical component. A CPR course may include an online component provided there is an in-person portion prior to the certification being issued.
Infection Control Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years in the area of infection control standards as required by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Iowa Jurisprudence Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years in the area of Iowa jurisprudence.
Abuse Identification and Reporting Training

Effective July 1, 2019, licensees and registrants who practice in Iowa, must complete training through the Department of Human Services and renew the training every 3 years thereafter.  Prior to July 1, 2019, the training was valid for 5 years.  Credit can be claimed for completing courses.

Mandatory reporter training is available here.

Note: The DHS core training is awarded 2.0 hours for each section, for 4 hours total.  Recertification training is awarded 1.0 hour for each section, for 2 hours total.


Dental Assistants

To renew on active status, dental assistants must complete 20 hours of hours of continuing education every two years or qualify for an exemption. Registrants are also required to complete a minimum of one hour each in the following areas:
The required courses may be counted towards the minimum number of hours required for renewal.

  • Infection control
  • Iowa jurisprudence

Dental assistants who hold a qualification in dental radiography must complete a minimum of two (2) hours of continuing education in the area of dental radiography or qualify for an exemption.

CPR Required for renewal – can claim up to 3 hours for completing course. To be eligible, CPR certification courses must be from nationally-recognized sponsor, and include a "hands-on", clinical component. A CPR course may include an online component provided there is an in-person portion prior to the certification being issued.
Infection Control Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years in the area of infection control standards as required by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Iowa Jurisprudence Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years in the area of Iowa jurisprudence.
Abuse Identification and Reporting Training

Effective July 1, 2019, licensees and registrants who practice in Iowa, must complete training through the Department of Human Services and renew the training every 3 years thereafter.  Prior to July 1, 2019, the training was valid for 5 years.  Credit can be claimed for completing courses.

Mandatory reporter training is available here.

Note: The DHS core training is awarded 2.0 hours for each section, for 4 hours total.  Recertification training is awarded 1.0 hour for each section, for 2 hours total.

Dental Radiology 2 hours for dental assistants with an added qualification in dental radiography.


Mandatory Reporter Training

By law, all health care providers in Iowa are mandatory reporters of suspected cases of child abuse or dependent adult abuse. State law also requires that all health care providers receive mandatory training identifying and reporting cases of suspected abuse. If your practice treats children, you must obtain the training in identification and reporting of child abuse. If your practice treats adults, you must obtain training in identification and reporting of dependent adult abuse. If your practice treats both children and adults, you must obtain both types of training. Training can be obtained through separate classes or one combined class that covers both topics.

The mandatory training is required within six months of initial practice in Iowa, and every three years* thereafter. Continuing education hours are also awarded for completing the training. You may claim two hours of continuing education credit for each section of the core training and one hour of continuing education for each section of the recertification training. 

The Dental Board does not offer or approve the mandatory training courses. Effective July 1, 2019, the Department of Human Services (DHS) is the only agency approved to provide this training to Iowa licensees and registrants. 

DHS Mandatory Reporter Training
Additional information, including FAQs, about the new law and training requirements is available at https://dhs.iowa.gov/child-welfare/mandatoryreporter.

*Training completed prior to July 1, 2019 is valid for five years.  When the new DHS training is completed, recertification is required every three years for all licensees and registrants who practice in Iowa.


CPR

Board rules require all licensees and registered dental assistants to show proof of current certification in CPR in order to renew. Certification should be obtained through a “nationally-recognized course,” such as the Red Cross or American Heart Association courses. Dentists with general anesthesia or moderate sedation permits are required to have current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification, or Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) in conjunction with their sedation permit. To be eligible, CPR certification courses must include a "hands-on," clinical component.  A CPR course may include an online component provided there is an in-person portion prior to the certification being issued.

You are required to maintain current CPR certification for each year that you maintain your license or registration. Some courses are valid for one year, while others have a two-year renewal cycle. Pay attention to the expiration date on your CPR card and make sure you renew on time. CPR requires practice in order to maintain your skills, so stay current. You may claim up to three hours of continuing education credit each biennium for taking a CPR course.


Exemptions & Extensions

Licensees and registrants may claim exemptions in the following cases:

  • The current biennium renewal period, or portion thereof, following original issuance of a license or registration (i.e. first renewal in Iowa);
  • Periods that a person serves honorably on active duty in military services;
  • Periods that a person practices the person’s profession in another state having a continuing education requirement, and the licensee or registrant meets all of the requirements of that state;
  • Periods that a person is a government employee working in the person’s licensed or registered specialty and assigned to duty outside the United States; and
  • Other periods of active practice and absence from the state approved by the Board

Illness and Disability

In cases of illness or disability, licensees and registrants can apply for an extension or exemption of the continuing education requirements. Written application must be made on forms approved by the Board. A licensed physician must also sign the form. The Board may require the applicant to make up a certain portion or all of the minimum education requirements.

    Claiming Exemption or Extension at Renewal

    Persons who qualify for an exemption or extension can mark the appropriate spot on the form for renewal. Note: You are still required to submit a timely application for renewal and pay the fees owed.  If you are practicing in Iowa, you must complete training in identification and reporting of dependent adult and/or child abuse.  Also, you must hold current certification in CPR (unless issued an exemption from CPR in cases of disability).

    You can find all applications and forms associated with continuing education in the Applications and Forms section of the website under the section titled "Continuing Education Applications and Forms."


    Reporting Continuing Education

    In your renewal, report the total number of continuing education hours completed in the renewal period. You will also be asked to report the dates that you completed the mandatory abuse training. Licensees and registrants must provide the expiration date of the current CPR certification.  Licensees and registrants are not required to provide proof of continuing education unless requested by the Board.

    Board rules require licensees and registrants to maintain a file of all continuing education courses attended. Licensees and registrants must maintain proof of attendance for four years after the year of attendance. The Board routinely audits renewals and may require licensees and registrants to show proof of all hours claimed for renewal. If a renewal is selected for audit, licensees and registrants must provide proof of the continuing education claimed. Failure to document enough continuing education hours could result in possible disciplinary action of a license or registration. If a licensee or registrant loses copies of the proof of attendance forms, you should contact the course sponsor(s) for duplicate copies or other evidence of hours completed.


    Related Links

    Printed from the website on February 08, 2023 at 11:35am.